Broccoli Cheese Soup

It’s been raining non stop here.  So clearly the answer is soup.  My favorite soup is definitely broccoli cheese and I’ve finally found a recipe that I love.  The best part is, it’s relatively low-fat for being creamy delicious comfort food.  The key word, of course, is relatively.

I started with the recipe I found here because (1) Panera is my second favorite broccoli cheese soup in the world and (2) it doesn’t require onions.  I substituted skim milk for the fat-free half and half because all those chemicals make me queasy.  Then I added a little cornstarch to help it thicken up.  I think I also used more broccoli than the original.  It was the amount I had in my fridge.  I might use even more next time.  After all, the broccoli is the star.  And next time I’ll double the recipe.  I ran out far too quickly.  Here it is as I made it this time.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2 cups skim milk
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 and a half crowns (about 4 cups) broccoli cut into florets
  • 2 carrots (about 1 cup) grated
  • 2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper

Melt the butter in a stockpot.  Sprinkle the flour over the butter and stir until smooth.

Add the milk slowly and stir until it’s completely smooth.  While the milk heats, dissolve the cornstarch in the water.  Add this mixture to the stockpot, stirring constantly.

Add the chicken stock, broccoli, and carrots.  Simmer for about 30 minutes until the broccoli is soft.  At this point you can purée with a hand blender if you want but I like to have a few pieces of broccoli so I left it alone.  Remove from heat and stir in the cheese, salt, and pepper.

Recipe makes about 6 cups.

Per 1 cup serving:  270 calories, 16 g fat, 7 g sugar, 2 g fiber, 15 g protein.

This entry was posted in Soup, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broccoli Cheese Soup

  1. biz319 says:

    Love that you added more broccoli = doesn’t it look exactly like Panera’s? Thanks for the shout out! 😀

  2. Pingback: Baked Potato Soup | Dorsey Kitchen

Leave a Reply

