Pizza Bites

It’s March Madness!  The tournament is always my favorite time of year.  There’s plenty of great basketball to watch and this year Gonzaga’s women’s team just advanced to the Elite Eight.  Their opponent in the Sweet Sixteen was Andy’s team, Louisville, so there was quite a bit of trash talk going on in the TV room this evening.  And, by the way Kenny, you owe me a dollar.

All this basketball watching requires basketball watching food.  My favorite is pizza bites.  I can’t cite a source for the original of this recipe because I’ve been making them so long.  And of course, after the first time I read the recipe, I never looked at it again because it’s so simple.  So simple, so delicious, and so much fun to eat.

First, assemble your ingredients:

Of course, you can use any fillings you want really.  I generally stick to mozzarella and pepperoni because I’m boring like that, but I’ve also tried a mix of mozzarella and provolone which was excellent with or without the pepperoni.

This is what I usually use:

  • 1 can pizza dough from the store cut into squares (Yes, I REALLY hate that this ingredient is not homemade.  I’m working on it.)
  • Mozzarella cut into cubes
  • Pepperoni slices
  • Olive oil
  • Italian seasoning
  • Dried basil
  • Garlic powder
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Pizza sauce for dipping

Grease the inside of a round cake pan with olive oil.  Pre-heat the oven to 400.

Take one square of dough, fold a piece of pepperoni in quarters and place it in the center of the square.  Place a cube of cheese on top of the pepperoni.  Pull the edges of the dough up around the filling and pinch them together until you have a sealed ball.  You can smush it around as needed and everything will be fine.  Place the pizza bite seam side down in your pan.  Repeat.

When you have all the dough used, your pan should be full of little pizza bites in concentric circles.  I never think I’m going to come out even but magically I always do.  Before you stick them in the oven, drizzle them with a little olive oil and sprinkle on some italian seasoning, basil, and garlic powder.  You could also sprinkle on a little of whatever else makes you happy  (salt, pepper, oregano, red pepper flakes, etc.).  Then cover the whole pan with some grated Parmesan cheese.

Bake for about 20 minutes until they come out looking like this:

Break them into pieces and serve with pizza sauce for dipping:

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pizza Bites

  1. Jo says:

    Do you deliver?

  2. Unfortunately, because pizza bites must be refrigerated, and I have yet to buy a refrigerated truck (or airplane), you live outside the delivery area, but the kitchen is always open for eat in orders. ( :

  3. Kelly Sullivan says:

    I have a recipe for pizza dough that you mix in a bread machine. It worked well and was pretty easy if you would like it.

    Kelly (Anthony’s wife)

  4. Kelly Sullivan says:

    I have a pizza dough recipe that you mix in a bread machine if you are interested. Just let me know.

    Kelly (Anthony’s wife, Scott’s friend)

  5. Absolutely! My bread maker has yet to make the trip here from Washington, but I’d definitely like to check it out anyway. When I have time, I like to make bread by hand. Plus it might give me an excuse to finally send for my bread machine.

  6. Kelly Sullivan says:

    3/4 cup water (70-80 degrees)
    1 tbsp canola oil
    1 tbsp nonfat dry milk powder
    1 tbsp sugar
    1 tsp salt
    2 1/4 cups bread flour
    1/4 cup yellow cornmeal
    1 tsp active dry yeast

    In bread machine pan, place ingredients in order suggested by manufacturer. Select dough setting (check dough after 5 minutes of mixing; add 1 to 2 tbsp of water or flour if needed.

Leave a Reply

