Magic Banana Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

I’ve wanted to try this for at least a year and a half now and I just haven’t gotten around to it until tonight.  I’ve been reading all over the internet about this magic “ice cream” made with just frozen bananas and I was so excited to try it.  I like ice cream.  I like bananas.  Sounds good right?

I have to say, so far I’m a little less than impressed, but I haven’t given up yet.

Here are the basics.  You take bananas, cut them into chunks, freeze them, and then stick them in a food processor until they look like ice cream.  I added some mini chocolate chips.  I wanted to put in some peanut butter too but I got vetoed.  I’ll try that next time, when Andy’s not around.  I also want to try it with strawberries.

Here’s how I felt about it.  It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t really anything like ice cream, and it wasn’t really any better than just eating a banana.  First of all, it still tastes like bananas.  I like bananas.  A lot.  But if I’m going to eat them, I generally like them in their original form rather than all mushy and slimy.  Second of all, ice cream is cold.  That’s a major part of its appeal.  This was just barely cool.  I think maybe my bananas weren’t frozen enough so next time I’m going to try letting them freeze longer.  This time they were only in the freezer for about an hour and a half.  I’m also going to try blending in some form of exciting ice-cube like I learned about here.  Frozen strawberries might help too.  I still have hope.  I’ll keep you updated.

 

Note:  I categorized this post under vegan.  If you are trying to make this vegan, make sure you use a vegan chocolate chip.  I used the cheap stuff that contains milkfat so mine wasn’t really vegan.  You could also mix in any number of other vegan things like fruit or peanut butter.

This entry was posted in Vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Magic Banana Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

  1. Lulu says:

    I felt this way too – until I added vanilla cocnut milk and cocoa powder – YUM…add a little peanut butter too and it’s on!

Leave a Reply

