Easy Chai Latte

Disclaimer:  This is so easy, it doesn’t even count as a recipe.

It’s rainy here and I’m home on the couch with a headache, so I made myself a chai latte.  I learned to make these because Andy loves them and I wanted to be able to make him something he likes when I make myself coffee.  It turns out I like these so well I make them for myself now a lot too.

Most people make chai lattes by making spiced tea and then adding milk and sugar.  I use tea bags because it’s easier and I’m just not that picky about my chai.  I tried adding milk and sugar to my chai made with water, but I generally only have skim milk in the house and I was ending up with a thin, unexciting latte.  And Andy wouldn’t drink them.  Plus, heating the milk was an extra step, or you ended up with a cold latte.

I started to wonder what would happen if I just put my tea bag directly in hot milk.  Turns out, it’s delicious and so much easier than my old method.  Even Andy approves.

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz skim milk
  • 1 bag spiced chai (my favorite is Lipton Spiced Chai)
  • 1-2 teaspoons sugar
Put milk in microwave safe mug and microwave for 3 minutes.  Watch that it doesn’t boil over.  Add your tea bag to the hot milk and let steep for a couple of minutes.  Squeeze all the goodness out of it.  Stir in the sugar.  Easy right?
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Drinks, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Chai Latte

  1. Bethea says:

    I have chai sitting in the drawer. I must have this now.

Leave a Reply

