Whole Wheat Penne with Meat Sauce and Why I Love Jamie Oliver

I made penne with meat sauce for dinner last night.  This meal is so warm and comforting.  Perfect for a rainy day.  Plus I’ve been thinking about making it for weeks.  Food always tastes better when it’s long-awaited.

Not even a  day later, I’m already looking forward to having more.

The sauce is exactly the same as the one I use for my lasagna.  I added some parsley and didn’t use quite as much oregano, because that’s just the mood I was in, but it doesn’t need to be changed at all.  1 box of whole wheat penne and one batch of sauce makes  6 – 8 servings.

Now, before you make this, please, please, PLEASE, go watch this:  Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution: Season 2, Episode 1.

I thought I was being careful about the ground beef I bought, but I’ll certainly be more careful now.  And sausage?  I’ve often wondered what sausage really is.  The USDA tells me it is NOT cheek, tongue, or heart, but other than that apparently anything goes.  I think I’m going to be learning to make my own sausage next.

Now don’t get me wrong, I just showed you a big plate of delicious pasta with meat sauce and, at least for now, I’m going to keep eating meat, but I think it’s important to know where that meat comes from.   Because labels lie and even “healthy” brands I used to trust were secretly feeding me dog food rinsed with ammonia.  This is one of those times when it seems like a good idea to live on a farm.  Then I could have complete control over the meat I eat.  It sounds like a good idea of course, until I start thinking about all the things that would go along with actually preparing the meat I eat.  Most of which involve dead animals, which I’m not exactly fond of.  And this is the part of the story when I start to feel overwhelmed by it all, but all I’m really saying is this:  every time I make my food just a little healthier, or more natural, or a little more sustainable or humane, or a little more locally grown, or just plain more delicious, it’s a small victory.  It’s all about baby steps.

This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole Wheat Penne with Meat Sauce and Why I Love Jamie Oliver

  1. Alison says:

    I love Jamie, too. 🙂 Thanks for posting this.

Leave a Reply

