Turkish Breakfast and Andy’s Hash Brown Casserole

This weekend, I didn’t cook much because I was too busy eating all the delicious food other people made for me.  First, I’ve been tutoring a Turkish woman to help her prepare for the TOEFL.  Saturday she had me over for breakfast before our lesson.  Along with strong black tea, fresh tomatoes and cucumbers, two kinds of cheese, honey, jam, “Turkish sausage,” fried potatoes, and olives, she served me this amazing thing she called a Turkish pita pizza.  It was pita bread baked with a thin layer of cheese and egg on top.  I get hungry every time I think about it.  That’s definitely going on my list of things to learn how to make.

Not long after breakfast we headed to Andy’s mother’s for an Easter egg hunt and birthday celebration.  There’s always good food at Andy’s mother’s house.  In this case, a very southern sounding meal of ham, hash brown casserole, green beans, baked beans, potato salad, and corn pudding.  Now, when I say hash brown casserole, I should clarify:  Andy’s sister requested that he bring his “cheesy potato with fruity pebbles topping casserole.”  And with that, I give you a guest recipe courtesy of Andy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag southern style hash browns, thawed
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 8 oz container of sour cream
  • 2 cups shredded cheese
  • 2 cups frosted flakes
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Mix the hash browns, chicken soup, sour cream, and cheese together in a big bowl.  Pour into a 9 x 13 glass pan.  Melt the butter in a microwave safe bowl.  Add the frosted flakes to that bowl and crush them into the butter.  Spread this topping evenly over the hash brown mixture.  Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.

Notes:  

When we went shopping for ingredients we sounded like this:

Me:  What do you need?

Andy:  A bag of cheese.

Me:  What size bag of cheese?

Andy:  I don’t know, a bag of cheese.

three aisles later. . . 

Andy:  I need a tub of sour cream.

Me:  A tub?

Andy:  Yeah.

Me:  Who made this recipe?

For those of you still wondering, yes, he made it up.  But I will admit, I enjoyed it and it was definitely the most popular dish at dinner.  

As for the fruity pebbles, apparently the last time Andy made this dish for his sister, he used Christmas Rice Krispies for the topping. . .

Tomorrow I’ll share my attempted contribution to dinner:  Strawberry Shortcake.  Less than successful but still delicious in pieces. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turkish Breakfast and Andy’s Hash Brown Casserole

  1. Alison says:

    It sounds like a great weekend! Love the “fruity pebbles” idea. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Bethea says:

    That’s a great story! I love it. That’s how shopping goes with a lot of the men in my life I’ve noticed.

Leave a Reply

