Orange Chicken and News

I have been absent from the blog for quite a while now.  I have no excuse except to say that I have been somewhat distracted the last week or so.  Don’t worry, it’s good news.

For the last two years, I have become increasingly unhappy teaching in my current district.  I thought seriously about leaving teaching.   But last week I heard about an open position at a small school outside the city.  It was exactly the type of school I was looking for – small, welcoming environment, high standards, and innovative ideas for how to meet them.  The more I learned about the school, the more excited I was about the job.  I applied and interviewed twice.  Yesterday, I officially got the job!

We celebrated with cheeseburgers and chocolate milkshakes.

So last week, while I was distracted, I did still do some cooking.  I asked Andy what he wanted for dinner and when he said orange chicken, I didn’t have to be asked twice.  Orange chicken is one of my favorite foods and Andy had never tried it before.  I couldn’t find my recipe and I was in a hurry so I looked up a new recipe on Local Kitchen.  The recipe is so good it definitely replaced my old one and I also enjoyed reading about her reasons and strategies for local eating.

Anyway, this recipe is so good, I actually followed it.  I’m not even going to repost it for you.  If you try it, just do exactly as she says.  The only thing I changed is that I used 1/4 cup of orange juice and only 2 tablespoons of lemon juice.  It was what I had on hand.  I also used sesame oil for the frying.  I love the flavor it adds to the chicken.

One reason I really like this recipe is that it doesn’t require marinating.  I rarely plan that far ahead.  This was very fast and easy.  Even though it was my first time through this recipe and I’m a relatively slow cook, I was done in under an hour.  Next time I bet I could be done as fast as the rice cooker.

Andy’s verdict, however:  chicken shouldn’t taste like fruit.  I think he’s crazy.  More orange chicken for me.

This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

